Strategy Committee

Strategy Committee

A group of business and community leaders representing the state’s major industries and regions were engaged in the process as the project’s Strategy Committee. Members of the committee were asked to assist DED in the process of crafting an enduring statewide economic development strategy that is inclusive of all community members and industries. The committee assisted by:

  • Attending committee meetings and providing input on the project strategy and activities.
  • Assisting with, and attending where possible, community and industry forums which are intended to gather input from business and community leaders of specific regions and industry throughout the state.
  • Promoting the project to community members and co-workers, with the purpose of encouraging participation in the online forum and community and industry forums.
  • Reviewing the strategy and making recommendations and revisions prior to the document being released for public comment.

The project’s Strategy Committee is made up of business and community leaders from across the state. The committee represents the main economic interests of Alaska, with private sector representatives as a majority of its membership, and including: public officials, community leaders, and representatives of workforce development boards, representatives of institutions of higher education, minority and labor groups, and private individuals. Throughout the process there were minor changes to the committee, the list below is made up of members that were involved at one time or another in the process.

Strategy Committee: Northern Opportunity: Alaska’s Economic Strategy

  • Joe Beedle, Northrim Bank
  • Larry Cash, RIM Architects
  • Sue Cogswell, Prince William Sound Economic Development District
  • Deantha Crockett, Alaska Miners Association
  • Tim Dillon, Kenai Peninsula Economic Development District
  • Kathryn Dodge, University of Alaska Cooperative Extension Small Business & Economic Development
  • Jim Dodson, Fairbanks Economic Development Corporation
  • Doug Griffin, Southwest Alaska Municipal Conference
  • Representative David Guttenberg, Alaska State Legislature
  • Scott Habberstad, Alaska Airlines
  • Marleanna Hall, Resource Development Council
  • Jason Hoke, Copper Valley Development Association
  • Senator Shelley Hughes, Alaska State Legislature
  • David Karp, Northern Air Cargo
  • Brian Kleinhenz, Sealaska Corporation
  • Brent Latham, Yukon Kuskokwim Economic Development Council
  • John MacKinnon, Associated General Contractors of Alaska
  • Kara Moriarty, Alaska Oil and Gas Association
  • Kris Norosz, Icicle Seafoods
  • Crystal Nygard, Mat-Su Business Alliance
  • Christine O’Connor, Alaska Telephone Association
  • Lisa Parker, Parker Horn Company
  • Bill Popp, Anchorage Economic Development Corporation
  • Kim Reitmeier, ANCSA Regional Association
  • Meilani Schijvens, Rain Coast Data
  • Hugh Short, Pt Capital
  • John Springsteen, Alaska Industrial Development and Export Authority (AIDEA)
  • Andy Teuber, Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium (ANTHC)
  • Curtis Thayer, The Alaska Chamber
  • Rick Thomas, The Chariot Group
  • Norman Van Vactor, Bristol Bay Economic Development Corporation
  • John Wanamaker, Alaska Venture Partners
  • Doug Ward, Vigor Alaska / Alaska Workforce Investment Board
  • Laurie Wolf, The Foraker Group
  • Shelly Wright, Southeast Conference